Fairfax County, Virginia in 1760

12Sep09

I work at a local charity that supports, among other things, a domestic violence shelter and a food pantry.  If ever one was granted their dream job, it is I.  If someone had asked me to write up a job description for employment that would suit me perfectly, this is what I would have written:

Duties and responsibilities must include digging through boxes of possibly vintage and antique goods donated by grandchildren and great-grandchildren who, for some reason, have no attachment to the beautiful and meaningful things collected by their ancestors.  Also, sorting through boxes of books deemed unneccessary by their previous owners.

That’s pretty much what I do.  This is what I did before being hired for this job.  I hit yard sales, I jumped in dumpsters (once, because I was too big to get in a dumpster my faithful charge, The Bug, got in for me a retrieved an old decorating book worth 80 bucks), I searched antique malls and flea markets, for goods to resale in an internet venue.  I made an excellent happy living doing this.  I’m amazed that was even possible.  So you can imagine my amazement at finding out that someone, ANYONE, would HIRE me to do such a thing.  Anyway, I digress…

Among the things that I sell is books on Amazon.  From time to time I’m lucky enough to run across books that I probably wouldn’t ever buy because they don’t apply to my own research, but that are of some worth to others researching their families.  Weird, hard to find books, most of the time.  The other day I ran across Fairfax County, Virginia in 1760: An Interpretive Historical Map.  Contained in the book are “maps” of the landholding and land-leasing residents of that historical county in 1760.  For anyone with ancestors in this area, this would be a valuable resource.  Let’s look at a Mr. Charles Broadwater.  This book tells me Charles owned 1700 acres in Fairfax County and that he leased another 200 acres from Simon Pearson.  He has 22 slaves in 1760.  He owns three separate pieces of land, all of which he inherited.  He has a tenant named William Harbin on 100 acres of this land.  This book also contains information on ferries, mills, tobacco inspection warehouses, courthouses, and churches in this area.

If you’d like a lookup from this book, drop me a line.  With all the lookups I’ve requested in Cook County, Chicago, and beyond, it’s only good genealogy karma for me to help…

No Responses Yet to “Fairfax County, Virginia in 1760”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

